The New Generation of Classic Short Stories

M. J. Hyland

M. J. Hyland, born in London in 1968, studied English and law at the University of Melbourne and is the author of two novels: How the Light Gets In (2003), which was short-listed for the Commonwealth WritersÂ’ Prize, and Carry Me Down (2006), short-listed for the Man Booker Prize. She lives in Manchester, England, where she teaches in the Centre for New Writing at Manchester University.

Stories by M. J. Hyland published in Zoetrope: All-Story:
  Eggshell Skull, Vol. 12, No. 1
A Boy, an Ex-Orphanage, and a Trapped Dog, Vol. 10, No. 3